top of page

The Devil's Prayer by Luke Gracias


The Devil's Prayer by Luke Gracias

Publisher: Australian Ebook Publisher

Published: 26th August 2016

Format: Ebook

Pages: 294

ISBN: 978-1-925427-33-2

Synopsis:

StartFragmentA nun commits suicide in front of thousands in Spain. In Australia, Siobhan Russo recognises that nun as her mother, Denise Russo, who disappeared six years ago. In search of answers, Siobhan travels to the isolated convent where her mother once lived. Here she discovers Denise’s final confession, a book that details a heinous betrayal that left her crippled and mute, and Denise’s subsequent deal with the Devil to take revenge. In the desperate bargain Denise made with the Prince of Darkness, she wagered Siobhan’s soul. As Siobhan discovers the fate of her soul, she learns that hidden within the pages of her mother’s confession is part of The Devil’s Prayer, an ancient text with the power to unleash apocalyptic horrors. And now her mother’s enemies know Siobhan has it. Can Siobhan escape an order of extremist monks determined to get the Prayer back? Can she save the world from its own destruction?EndFragment

My Thoughts

Thank you to NetGalley and to Australian eBook Publisher for approving me to read and review this book.

I was pretty much hooked when I read the synopsis and I couldn't wait to get my hands on this book. Believe me when I say, it really didn't disappoint. I am quite a fan of historical books (in case you hadn't guessed) and this has a lot of history, religious history and it does go back to the Crusades. When I say there is graphic content, there really is graphic content and definitely goes into a lot of detail.

Siobhan's mother went missing 6 years ago and suddenly commits suicide in Spain in front of 80,000 witnesses. She gets given her mothers bible and in the back is a key. Siobhan decides to go to Spain to get answers as to why her mother disappeared. She ends up reading her mothers confession of the why's, what's, how's and when's. Siobhan has a lot of questions and she is finally learning the truth about what happened.

This book for me has left me with a lot more questions and I am really hoping that there is going to be a sequel as I would love for those questions to be answered. Especially as I feel that Siobhan's journey has only just begun and so much more needs to be done.

Luke Gracias has done a fantastic job with his debut book and I can't wait to read more of his work.

I'm going to give this book a 5/5 rating, it was brilliantly wrote and the plot seriously has me hooked. I have literally just finished the book and I'm still asking questions.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page