top of page

Book Review: The Madam by Jaime Raven


The Madam by Jaime Raven Publisher: Avon

Published: May 2016

Format: Paperback Pages: 304 ISBN13: 9780008171469

Synopsis:Scars might fade but the memories don’t… Three years and eleven months. That’s how long Lizzie Wells was banged up inside Holloway prison for, serving time for a crime she didn’t commit.

Six months. That’s how long it took Lizzie to fall in love with a woman inside the prison. Scar, who might just have reason for her name.

Now Lizzie is finally free, the duo embark on a search to find those who framed Lizzie and sent her down for cold blooded murder.

THE BUSINESS MAN. THE COPPER. THE MADAM.

It’s time they paid their price…

My Thoughts: Firstly, Thank You to the author for sending me a copy to read and review.

It had me gripped within the first couple of pages and couldn’t put it down until I knew the truth.

Lizzie and Scar are fantastic characters, I liked them both a lot – in fact I liked all the characters in the book which rarely happens for me. They were developed well, although I think we could have had a little more backstory about Scar. I’m not complaining though!!!!! And I liked even more when we found out why she was in prison to begin with! (I won’t give details but it’ll make a man cringe)

To begin with, Lizzie comes across as unstable, determined and just out right insane. But by the end of the book, she’s proved she is determined but not unstable or insane. She was a great character, one of the best I’ve come across this year. I don’t think it was important if they were lovers or not, it’s not really defining point of the story for me. It worked though, and made a strangely nice change from the normal female-male way of things.

I kind of predicted who the bad cop was about halfway through, but I didn’t care as it could have gone either way with it. It was predictable in a lot of places but it didn’t change a thing for me. I still enjoyed the book immensely, and as I said I couldn’t leave it alone!! I even found myself reading it through my lunch break at work instead of spending the time with the child (this being a big thing it being a Sunday!!!!)

It was an excellent, well written story with enough twists, blood, violence, drama, and everything else you could ever want in a book like this!! A huge 5/5 from me!!

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page