top of page

Book Review: Lie With Me By Sabine Durrant

[if lt IE 9]> <![endif] Jetpack Open Graph Tags

Lie With Me by Sabine Durrant Publisher: Mulholland Books Published: July 2016 Format: Paperback Pages: 293 ISBN13: 9781473608337

Synopsis: It starts with a lie. The kind we've all told - to a former acquaintance we can't quite place but still, for some reason, feel the need to impress. The story of our life, embellished for the benefit of the happily married lawyer with the kids and the lovely home.And the next thing you know, you're having dinner at their house, and accepting an invitation to join them on holiday - swept up in their perfect life, the kind you always dreamed of...Which turns out to be less than perfect. But by the time you're trapped and sweating in the relentless Greek sun, burning to escape the tension all around you - by the time you start to realise that, however painful the truth might be, it's the lies that cause the real damage...... well, by then, it could just be too late.

My Thoughts: Firstly, let me thank Bookbridgr and Mulholland Books for the chance to read and review this book.The description doesn’t give anything at all away about this book. It’s a bit of a strange one for me, I didn’t see where it was going or how we were going to get there or anything. I really struggled with it, but then on the other hand I just could not stop myself from reading it.I will say that Paul Morris, our leading man in the book, was a complete and utter D**k, but then that’s what made the book a little bit more interesting.

Honestly, I didn’t particularly take a liking to any of the characters. They were all shallow, unlikeable and just annoying. Paul was just just the worst one in my opinion, not caring for others or thinking about his actions in anyway shape and form. He came across as bit of a perv as well to be honest.The story flowed well though, and it kept me hooked. On the cover of the book it said that it was for fans of Gone Girl and Girl On The Train but I don’t think it is. I’ve read both of them and having loved Gone Girl and sort of liked the second, this one isn’t up there with them I’m afraid.

As I said, the story flowed well and I was hooked within a few pages. It was wonderfully written, and the storyline was actually quite good. The concept was brilliant, and completely shocking to be honest. It really would not surprise me if this became a highly recommended book this year, it does have a lot of promise for it.

I am struggling to give a rating though. On Goodreads I did give it 4/5 but I’m undecided. I think, for now, I’ll leave it as that. I can always change it if I ever wish to read it again.

My Rating: 4/5

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page