top of page

Book Review: Destiny's Lady by Maureen Peters


Destiny's Lady by Maureen Peters

Publisher: Endeavour Press

Published: 9th May 2016

Format: Ebook

Pages: 196

ISBN: 9780523403670

Synopsis:

Used by her family, destroyed by her country… Lady Jane Grey never wanted to be Queen. As seventh in line to the throne, she never imagined that one day the heavy crown of the kingdom would rest upon her young head. But her cruel, power-hungry parents had other ideas and used her in a desperate attempt to further their own ambitions. As part of a plot against the throne, Jane was married off at the tender age of sixteen and proclaimed Queen almost immediately. However, she was nothing but a pawn in the hands of others and she quickly found herself imprisoned in the Tower of London when her cousin Mary arrived in London. Although she ruled England for only nine days – and in name only – she became a symbol of innocence and integrity to many of the lives that her tragic and short-lived reign touched. During an age where it was perilous to love and often fatal to be too close to the crown, was Lady Jane Grey the traitor she was made out to be? Or was she simply a victim of a ruthless plot against the throne? Presented against a backdrop of glamour and intrigue, this is the tragic story of Lady Jane Grey.

My Thoughts:

Firstly I would like to thank NetGalley for giving me the chance to read and review this book.

This book although it had me hooked and was well written, left me feeling slightly unsatisfied. It seemed to rush through Lady Jane Grey's short life. I would of loved to have found out more about her.

I immediately started to like Lady Jane and her will to learn. But just as quick I found myself disliking her parents a lot. The poor girl went through a lot, all because she wasn't a boy. Although there was a lot of characters in the book, a lot more could of been said about them. I did feel I had to finish the book to find out (although I knew) what happened to Lady Jane.

I'm going to give this book a 3/5 rating as although I liked it and enjoyed it, I did feel it was rushed and a lot more could of been said.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page